Queen without John Deacon

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Dan MacIntosh, Dec 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dan MacIntosh

Dan MacIntosh Active Member Thread Starter

Queen experts, is Queen really Queen without John Deacon? How important was his contribution to the band's catalogue, and is this upcoming reunion tour truly valid? I ask because I just don't know, and was just wondering.

Michael Rose likes this.
  2. carlwm

carlwm Forum Resident

Strong musician and extremely decent songwriter.

Definitely an important part of the original band and seemingly happily retired. No reason for me then, for the others to stop playing.

You don't fold the team when your flank forward hangs up his boots.

3. Judge Judy

Judge Judy Forum Resident

4. brfloydfan

brfloydfan Forum Resident

I'm no Queen expert (a huge fan, though) but, from what I understand, all band members contributed a lot to the band's catalogue. 'I Want To Break Free', 'Another One Bites The Dust', 'You're My Best Friend' and 'One Year Of Love' are by John Deacon. There may be more songs by him, but these are the ones I'm aware of.

As for the upcoming tour, I think it is valid, yes. Freddie and John are irreplaceable, but Brian and Roger have the right to continue playing, as they are Queen too. Also, Adam Lambert is doing a great job, IMHO.

5. rjp

rjp Senior Member

queen wasn't queen anymore when freddy mercury passed.

6. Benn Kempster

Benn Kempster Who else?

It is apparent that whatever MayLor want to call their outfit is what it's called, regardless of whether *WE* agree with it or not. In the same way The Two are using the name of The Who....... etc etc.