Listenin' to Jazz and Conversation

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Lonson, Sep 1, 2016.

1. Six String

Six String Senior Member

NP Bobby Hutcherson - Spiral (Blue Note) LT series

2. Lonson

Lonson I'm in the kitchen with the Tombstone Blues Thread Starter

[​IMG]

Donald Byrd "At the Half Note Vol. 2" Blue Note TOCJ Japan cd

Love the swinging sound and arrangements of this Byrd unit. So sad Duke Pearson left us so young.

bluemooze, Berthold, jay.dee and 7 others like this.
  3. Stu02

Stu02 Forum Resident

I dont think of that sample as free jazz but maybe thats just me. On ECM confluence of the birds might be free jazz
    But most ECM artists i would not think of as free jazz. I also dont think melodic would be an adjective i would use for free jazz though there are some melodic components sometimes .
    Im not an expert here and free jazz is a vague hard to pin down kind of genre anyways.
    I do like talking about these terms though as I find it helps me see the patterns in jazz.:)
    I think of someone like Braxton as free jazz

bluejimbop likes this.
  4. Stu02

Stu02 Forum Resident

Well put Les. Precisely

5. chervokas

chervokas Senior Member

I doubt perfection or "technical evolution" or anything like that has anything to do with it.

I mean, just thinking of some of the new jazz albums I've really enjoyed this year, I don't think JD Allen's Love Stone features playing that's "technically more evolved" than the playing on A Love Supreme. I don't think Rudy Royston's Flatbed Buggy is "too perfect" (not that there can be degrees of perfection, something is either perfect or not perfect) compared with Saxophone Colossus or something. I don't think the Fred Hersch Trio's Live in Europe is by any measure "excessive" compared to, say Bill Evans' Sunday at the Vanguard.