Ingmar Bergman's Cinema (Criterion) - Comments and Where to Get the Other Films?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by TwentySmallCigars, Dec 7, 2018.

1. TwentySmallCigars

TwentySmallCigars Forum Resident Thread Starter

First of all, I just got this yesterday. Wow, what a beautiful package, the Criterion folks have really outdone themselves here.

I know there is a mention of this on the Criterion Nov 2018 release thread but I believe this set needs its own thread anyway. I'd be interested to hear other folks' impressions and/or criticisms.

Now, I am by no means an expert on his films; in all honesty I've only seen a few (Virgin Spring, Seventh Sign, Wild Strawberries and Cries & Whispers) but I enjoyed these immensely and figured it was time to get with the program. I'm going to watch them in festival mode as suggested and will probably be speaking with a Swedish accent by Christmas.

Now, a question for the real experts, of which there are no shortage on this forum:

I know that this set is not the complete oeuvre, has anyone (yet) compiled a list of the best releases of the movies not included in the Criterion set? Region code is not an issue for me.

FramboGND and MagicAlex like this.
  2. 93curr

93curr Senior Member

Really, only 'Prison' and 'Face To Face' are considered essential.

3. genesim

genesim Forum Resident

Check wikipedia. Other than theater tv movies you literally only need less than more or so. Unfortunately only one is on bluray outside of the set.

4. TwentySmallCigars

TwentySmallCigars Forum Resident Thread Starter

Thank you for the reply, but I can locate his filmography. I'm just wanting to know if the films not included here are available in decent quality somewhere else.

5. genesim

genesim Forum Resident

Sorry I wasn't trying to come off that way..but I find Wiki to be good at separating his actual films from theater work.