Audiophiles don't really want NEUTRAL. Audiophiles don't really like NEUTRAL.

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Steve Hoffman, Nov 6, 2010.

1. Rattlin' Bones

Rattlin' Bones Grumpy Old Deaf Drummer

I am. I'm a drummer. Been in studios, rehearsal rooms (once a week) and on stage.

Maybe that's why I prefer "neutral" in audio equipment. I listen for the most natural sound. I probably don't have it, as I can't affords the best, but I try.

patokiss likes this.
  2. Barnabas Collins

Barnabas Collins Senior Member

If we really wanted neutral, wouldn't all speakers, amps, turntables and DACs sound the same? Heck with that. How do I know on any given recording what was really going on in the studio? Especially with most rock/pop recordings. I just want something that sounds amazing to my ears. I'm not after some kind of "truth", I just want to kick back, listen and have a drink or two (or three).

3. G E

G E Senior Member

How do we know what neutral is?

Our ears all hear uniquely.

I screw around with all the variables until I like it.

And then when I gets more money I screw around with them some more.

Last edited: Jun 23, 2018
    Bananas&blow, mds, Kristofa and 3 others like this.
  4. The Pinhead

The Pinhead KING OF BOOM AND SIZZLE IN HELL

I've been at rehearsals A LOT, and also many of my friends are musicians who play instruments, and do know how a guitar/bass guitar connected to an Ampeg, Hartke, Fender amp etc sound. Same with every can and cymbal of the drums. Sometimes the recording captures these sounds faithfully, others it doesn't. Same with equipment and reproduction above certain price point. Not everyone wants that kind of tonal and dynamic realism in their living rooms; not exactly a kick back and relax experience, mind you.

PhantomStranger, mds, Helom and 3 others like this.
  5. G E

G E Senior Member

This is spot on.

I've heard some amazing systems but one would never mistake them for