SACD Hybrid CDs*

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by RJD1954, Feb 4, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RJD1954

RJD1954 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Feel like a genuine clutz asking in this forum, but do you need a special CD player to play these, or will they play fine in cars, std home CD decks etc?

I ask as I am contemplating the SACD Stones' Beggars Banquet, and then, just before I pulled the ebay trigger, I thought "can I actually PLAY this?".

Many thanks

Optimize likes this.
  2. MicSmith

MicSmith Forum Resident

Yes the CD layer of CD/SACD hybrids play on standard CD players. If you have certain Blu Ray players they play the SACD option too. Some Sony Blu Ray players have this option for sure.

I’m no expert in this field but I’m sure the above holds true for any CD player.

3. karmaman

karmaman Forum Resident

Hybrid.

Redbook layer will play in standard CD player, the hi-res layer will not.

4. Hybrid SACDs play on all regular CD players in standard CD quality. They obviously play on SACD players.

Single-layer SACDs only play on SACD players, which aren't very common these days. Most every SACD released outside of Japan since 2003 is a hybrid SACD. That includes European and American SACDs.

5. RJD1954

RJD1954 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Many thanks to you all

6. Dillydipper

Dillydipper Space-Age luddite

This is yet another example of stuff that should have been simple, but as usual, the format shot itself in the foot by making it just a little too quirky for the average, un-initiated fan to get a handle on it.

Juuuust sit right back and you'll hear a tale, a tale of the Laserdisc...

Whay, Dan Steele, Galley and 3 others like this.
  7. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

It wasn't quirky. What killed it was that Sony did a lousy job of promoting the format, charging for the license to use the decoder chip, and the artists wanting double royalties for the hybrid discs.