Star Wars (1977) original Blu ray. Crappier than ever.

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by EddieVanHalen, Oct 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I don't understand why and how some big franchises and blockbuster movies get such a lousy treatment. The Star Wars BD's (OT) are mediocre, they are sourced from a 2004 scan that by today standards (beware, I'm not a Pro) must be outdated and as Vidiot stated it wasn't done on optimal conditions. The compression on Star Wars (1977) is lousy, look at the first desert scenes with C3PO and R2-D2, there's plenty of mosquito noise and other artifacts around the droid's edges. These Original Trilogy BD's are of subpar quality.
    T2, they've been usin the 2001 master for ages and when they do a new "restoration" is pure crap plagued with DNR that can only please the less demanding videophiles, if they can be considered as such, that are only looking for the UHD BD and HDR badges, what's on the disc some people don't really care.
    There are small companies like Arrow that almost everything they touch is turn into gold, like The Thing, Ronin, Rollerball or Invasion of the Body Snatchers, then move into big studios and big franchises and we get lousy quality. Sometimes I think they are ripping us off on purpose like if studios executives think "bah, it's Star Wars/Terminator, fans will buy whatever we sell them regardless of quality".

budwhite likes this.
  2. DrDre

DrDre Forum Resident