What did you find more annoying from the old SD NTSC/Pal system?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Kiko1974, Jan 31, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dan C

Dan C Forum Fotographer

PM Magazine, was it? I remember that show as a kid on KVIA in El Paso. Weren’t field pieces done on 3/4 U-Matic rather than Beta at the time? It was several years before the far superior Betacam would take over news production for the next 20+ years IIRC.

I worked at a budget-starved PBS affiliate in El Paso in the late-80s and our dub reels were still going on ancient 2” quad. It took a team to build them and I’d sometimes be at the machine making all the adjustments and loading tape, etc. It was really fun actually but it’s a miracle we ever got anything on the air back then!

dan c

2. JohnBeas

JohnBeas Forum Resident

It was definitely a PITA to deal with VHS conversion issues in the US. I was an audio-visual tech in the late 80's/90's and had access to an international VCR (Panasonic AG-W1) that would convert tapes from PAL into NTSC - it was great to be able to trade VHS tapes with people from Europe who would record music shows that I would never have access to. I also occasionally would find commercial VHS tapes which were only released in PAL - one in particular was "Rickie Lee Jones - Naked Songs" - there was a common CD release but the accompanying VHS documentary was only available in Europe (and has never had a DVD release). Things got somewhat easier with the DVD format as you could at least use your computer to watch a DVD from any country or purchase a multi-format DVD player to play the discs (although there was still the issue of region coding). I have a number of PAL DVD's that I've purchased from Amazon.uk over the years - most of them I've converted into MP4's and put on a hard drive for easy playback.

Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
  3. townsend

townsend Senior Member

Vidiot: thanks for your correction. I defer to you on this.:righton: