Upgrade recommendations

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Dani Kalmar, Feb 4, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dani Kalmar

Dani Kalmar Well-Known Member Thread Starter

I have been using AT LP120 for 2 years with Ortofon 2M Blue and looking to upgrade to a non DJ turntable up to $1000. I'd like to continue using the 2M Blue for now.
    I have been looking at the likes of 1Xpression Carbon & Rega RP2 which are sold where I live.
    Which one would be a better choice?

2. Twinsfan007

Twinsfan007 Forum Resident

Any chance of buying used? I don't know what's over there but hopefully it's something! How much is the Rega Planar 3? In the US They're around $1000 USD. Would have a nice upgrade path with a Rega. However, you'll need a spacer to use an aftermarket cart.

SandAndGlass and Bananas&blow like this.
  3. Dhreview16

Dhreview16 Forum Resident

A Rega Planar 3 is about £650 over here including cartridge, or £580 without the Elys. (About 4 $ = £3). If local prices are high, could you import one from the UK direct ? It would be more of an upgrade over your nice AT, I think. Or look at the used/ex demo/open box markets.

Dennis0675 and Twinsfan007 like this.
  4. Paully

Paully De gustibus non est disputandum

I have played Rega, Thorens, and a few others not worthy of mention. The table I am using now, and the one I would replace with an exact copy if there were a need, would be a used VPI HW MK III (since I can't quite bring myself to spend the amount necessary for a SOTA vacuum turntable...). I am far from the most experienced around here with multiple turntables, but if I were spending around a grand that is what I would do.

5. Dani Kalmar

It is possible to find used TTs but when buying a new one I have the option to trade in the LP120 and aslo there is warranty to address issues that may come up during setup.

Roycer likes this.
  6. Dani Kalmar