Speed stability: Direct Drive vs belt

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by DaleClark, Feb 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vinyl is final

Vinyl is final Not Insane - I have a sense of humor

M
    My Yamaha PF 50 is a direct drive turntable with a suspended drive system and tonearm.

2. bever70

bever70 Let No-one Live Rent Free in Your Head!

Well let's just say that most common dd's don't work that way?!

3. Vinyl is final

I don't think they need to.

4. bever70

bever70 Let No-one Live Rent Free in Your Head!

Possibly. I have a few years of experience with suspended bd's and only just started out with dd...so time will tell me ;). Never had speed issues with the Thorens models I had.

5. Big Blue

Big Blue Forum Resident

It's motor noise isolation vs. cost, right? It seems like it costs more to make a direct drive with a noise level comparing to a belt drive of lower cost?

6. Vinyl is final

The Thorens are great TT's. Back in the day when I sold them I had the utmost respect for them. My only complaint was their price. At that time the Japanese were killing the European brands on price and new tech. Kinda like they did to the american car industry.

Big Blue and bever70 like this.
  7. Big Blue

Big Blue Forum Resident

Most people do need to choose only one, and I think you are right about the heels being dug in. Nobody likes thinking they have made an expensive mistake (though it's not really a mistake if they are happy with the turntable they have chosen, so it's still silly...).

bever70 likes this.
  8. Vinyl is final

Not in my experience. The cheapest DD I own is an Audio Technica AT LP120 USB I purchased used for $150 with the original cartridge. I listen to it with headphones and it is dead quiet. Nothing. Zip. Nada.