Yamaha A-S1100 or McIntosh MA5200

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by matrix-6, Feb 12, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Helom

Helom Forum member

Really can't say. I have no experience with that particular model.

2. matrix-6

matrix-6 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Questions on setting up the Klipsh S-W311 sub (SW-311 Subwoofer | Klipsch ):

1. The Klipsch Heresy IIIs have a 99 dB sensitivity rating. The Harbeth P3s have an 83.5 dB rating. Should I set the sub to -15 or -16 dB when using the P3s compared to the IIIs?

2. Anyone know if Klipsch designed the S-W311 to work with the IIIs best set to 0 dB out of the box on the S-W311s?

I am finding setting the 311 to 0dB for the IIIs and -15 for the P3s seem to sound best at 50 to 70 dB 9' away from the speakers. If I leave it at 0 with the P3s, I notice the dreaded boomy bass thump at these levels.

I want it to sound as the material is intended to sound. I tested with the following video and the Decibel X app on my iPhone:

The Hereseys' are rated down to 58 Hz and the P3 down to 75 Hz. I set the SW-311 crossover point to 75 although I can hear it going well above that when I test with the III's and P3s off. I left all other settings alone - flat EQ, 24 db filter slope, etc. I do notice there is a drop in volume between 52 Hz and 70 Hz in the video and overall the lower frequencies sound much lower in volume. Is this normal? Is there some sort of phase cancellation going on with my P3s or IIIs?

3. George P

George P Notable Member

Does the A-S1100 have the Pure Direct and/or CD Direct Amp features?

4. bradleyc

bradleyc Forum Resident

The A-S1100 has main direct, Google is your friend :)

5. ThorensSme

ThorensSme Forum Resident

Nope, it does not. Main Direct is for using an external pre-amp or HT setup.

6. George P

George P Notable Member

Thanks

Anyone else find it odd? I'd assume Pure Direct would be something their higher end amps would have.

7. scobb