To SUT or not to SUT with a Denon DL-103?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Benzion, Jan 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ProfessorC1983

ProfessorC1983 Forum Resident

I'm also planning to pair my 103R with the Lundahl LL1931 SUT in 1:16 mode. Did you end up adding a secondary load resistor? If so, what value did you like best?

If I've got my math right, 47000 / 256 (square of turns ratio of 16) = 183.6 ohms that the cart will "see", which is maybe a tad high since based on my understanding the target should be 140 (10x the 14ohm source impedance of the 103R)... but that should still be kinda-sorta in the butter zone even without an extra resistor... right? Or am I totally off base here?

2. JackG

JackG Forum Resident

I'm no expert, but I can quote them. :) Re: my own 103r:

And from Bob's Devices:

"You normally want it to be about 10-times the internal impedance of the cartridge. Now that is not a hard number, it could be 8-times and be fine, and sometimes 4-times can sound great. The important part is that more headroom is better. A lot depends on the characteristics of the phono preamp. Typically if you have enough headroom with impedance, the natural characteristics of the cartridge will be apparent. So, if you have a "bright" sounding cartridge, you may want to have a lower impedance at the cartridge, but if you have the impedance too low, it may sound muddy and flat.
    I no longer recommend adding resistors. There is considerable controversy over this and there is a lot of discussion elsewhere. The signal is so low coming from the MC cartridge, that is the one place I would not want to waste any signal. I work really hard to ensure that the output of the transformer has as short of a signal path as possible. That is the most critical part of the setup, where you have already reduced the current coming from the cartridge to gain extra voltage."

rappaport and ProfessorC1983 like this.
  3. Davey