New 'Star Trek: Discovery' TV Series a Go at CBS All Access*

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by dirwuf, Nov 2, 2015.

1. Linger63

Linger63 Forum Resident

Ok ..........my apologies.

As a video layman I have no issue with the VFX of either.......... but understand how YOU could.....:laugh:

2. Dr. Pepper

Dr. Pepper What, me worry?

3. BeatleJWOL

BeatleJWOL Senior Member

4. robertawillisjr

robertawillisjr Music Lover

I just started watching this season's episodes (1 and 2) and while not greatly impressed, I have enjoyed what I've watched. I am not a fan of the over active red head Ensign but...

5. budwhite

budwhite Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.

She's going to be a captain someday you know

:unhunh:

6. daglesj

daglesj Forum Resident

Enjoyed it all very much. Looking forward to S3.

7. Vidiot

Vidiot Now in 4K HDR!

8. BeatleJWOL

BeatleJWOL Senior Member

I feel like it was a bit overkill. Hopefully not a reaction to all the whining on social media and "fan" sites.

9. HGN2001

HGN2001 Mystery picture member

Colors. STAR TREK, the original series, was always visually about colors. Bright colors. Sell-those-RCA TVs bright colors. And since then, virtually every iteration of STAR TREK has been all about muting colors. The dull tan pajamas of the first movie. The boring dark-red-jacket uniforms of the rest of the original series movies. The muted color uniforms of the Next Generation, often paring up or down to gray. And the dark purple (or is it dark blue?) jumpsuits of ENTERPRISE with color (muted) piping. In the Abrams-verse, the uniform colors were sort-of OK, but not too bright - still muted compared to TOS. And even if they were close, you never got to look at one for more than a millisecond with the frenetic cutting and the lens-flares.