Modern Tubey Sounding Amps

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Barnabas Collins, Apr 27, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Barnabas Collins

Barnabas Collins Senior Member Thread Starter

So eventually, I'd like to augment my system with a tubed power amp. What companies make warm, lush, romantic sounding (not looking for neutral) tube midrange magic in the 5-10K range? I've heard the McIntosh MC275 and while it's very nice, I'm not sure it's quite what I'm looking for. See my profile for my current set up. I'm not looking to get rid of anything, just want-in the not too distant future-to add something else. I think I'd like to stay away from vintage amps because I'm not tech savvy and I'd hate to have something crap out on me within 6 months after buying it.

chacha likes this.
  2. Richard Austen

Richard Austen Forum Resident

Melody Valve Audio's 101D preamp throws a big bold tone and add to it one of their power amps or power amps from Line Magnetic and you should get a very big rich valve like presentation without the SS glare. This will fit your budget I believe and is a better route than an integrated generally speaking. The preamp has more say on the overall sound and I would probably look to replace the preamp and keep the power amp than the other way around. Speakers that use metal tweeters are generally best avoided - speakers designed for tube amps should be purchased. This is a system synergy issue. You can't put Ferrari tires on a Hummer and expect it to be a Ferrari.

Melody Valve Audio 101D preamp

[​IMG]
    If you want to go integrated the Line Magnetic 845 premium which is the new version of my old 219IA I believe is under $10,000. While it is an integrated it can be uses as a power amp as well offering an upgrade path. This is heavy at 62kg but the bottom part is tthe separate power supply so it might be more manageable to move than my 55kg single piece 219ia

[​IMG]