Worst Edit you've ever heard...

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Apollo C. Vermouth, May 12, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Apollo C. Vermouth

Apollo C. Vermouth Forum Resident Thread Starter

Been going over some duplicate promo 45's for McCartney/Wings that I have in the collection. I was always upgrading to better copies. Either the labels had writing on them or the vinyl itself was as clean as I wanted it to be. I have probably 3 or 4 copies of Wings 'Jet' Promo 45 that has the 2:49 edit on one side and the full album version on the other side. McCartney and Wings collectors know how hard the official release is to find with the time stamp error...the Promo has been way easier to find for me. Still don't have the official release with the error...anyway, now I know why the official with the error was replaced quickly : The 2:49 edit is an absolute MESS. Probably the worst edit I've ever heard. I graduated with an Associates in Recording an Engineering back in '94 from 5 Towns College here in NY and I have heard 1st year recording students that have done better editing jobs on the editing projects we had on reel to reels hand cut/splicing/editing. The 'Jet' edit is just a God awful MESS. No disrespect toward Wally...but it must have been a 4 in the morning edit. Anyone else have any edits that are just really bad?

apesfan, MPLRecords and applejam101 like this.
  2. rjp

rjp Senior Member

the short single version of chicago's 'make me smile' where they just kind of tack on the ending out of nowhere. always hated the way it was done.

altaeria and Mickey2 like this.
  3. WMTC

WMTC Forum Resident

The single edit of 10cc's "I'm Not In Love." After all the incredible production & work that went into that song, the single has an absolutely terrible edit in it. Quite jarring...

TimeWarper, dougb222, buzzzx and 13 others like this.
  4. ChrisInKansas

ChrisInKansas Forum Resident