Pink Floyd - The Early Years 1965-1972 Box Set - Realiz/ation (Content, tracks, etc. ONLY!)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by stereoptic, Nov 2, 2016.

1. van1

van1 Forum Resident

It will be interesting to find out if this is an audio rip as I don't see how that would fit in the copyright loop hole, and I would expect Floyd's lawyers to kill this before it gets off the ground. I wonder if they chose to use better sources as a way to get around the copyrighted releases...

rontoon likes this.
  2. progcode

progcode Forum Resident

I just discovered this dropout (and lack of dropout on bootlegs) independently and did a search. Your complaint was the only reference to this that I found. I agree this is odd and disappointing. I am a totally amateur (but reasonably experienced) sound editor, and I would easily be able to use Audacity to stitch a small patch from the bootleg source into the dropout area on the Early Years version. Otherwise the Early Years version sounds better than the boot. The resulting edit would be better than the dropout version they released.

RAZORMADE, andrewskyDE and rnranimal like this.
  3. rnranimal

rnranimal Senior Member

The bootleg was from an acetate that was cut when the tape was still fresh. They used the old tape on the Early Years which now has some damage. I agree it would've been easy to fix the dropout and they should've but had they given that level of attention to the set, a number of things would've been different. I dare say I could make the edit undetectable by ear.

progcode, Philrock90 and cwitt1980 like this.
  4. progcode

progcode Forum Resident

Another example of where they did not give proper attention is the song "Blues" on the "1967―1972 Continu/ation" disc. They misidentified it as being from a BBC session in 1968, but it was instead from a BBC broadcast of a live performance in 1971. But they also failed to list the actual title of the song which is "Alan's Blues".