Elvis Presley - The Albums and Singles Thread pt3 The Seventies

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by mark winstanley, May 26, 2019.

1. PepiJean

PepiJean Forum Resident

Did you listen to Elvis' first take in RCA's Studio "B"? I think it first was on FTD "Nashville Marathon". I'm not sure it is "better" than S&G but it ALWAYS gives me goosebumps. Just plain amazing.

2. Dave112

Dave112 Forum Resident

Without drastic emergency changes in Elvis' life, I don't think anything or anyone could have changed how things happened. If Dr. Nick hadn't provided Elvis with those drugs, it would have been others that Elvis had in his rolodex. An addict with the resources that Elvis had could always get what they wanted.

3. mark winstanley

mark winstanley Certified dinosaur, who likes physical product Thread Starter

It is a constant source of frustration, doing this thread has brought it all home to me.
    I am no doctor, but due to sad experiences with addicts and the issues they face, I would have been able to fix Elvis. It blows my mind that everyone was so blind to what was going on. Every single problem relates back to the pills. The weight gain, the constipation etc etc it is all directly related to one insidious killer ....
    I turn 51 this year, and I never thought I would make it past 30.... to think I am nearly a decade older than Elvis was when he died is beyond comprehension.

GillyT, Shawn, Tord and 4 others like this.
  4. mark winstanley

As for Bridge, we'll get their soon.
    I am fairly new to Elvis' version, but I will say I love both versions, but for completely different reasons.
    To me S&G's versions is a loving caress. Elvis' version is a desperate plea. Both completely valid, both completely beautiful.

5. SKATTERBRANE

SKATTERBRANE Forum Resident