Buying a COMPLETE Tube Amp System for Living Room

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by XUR, Jun 26, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. XUR

XUR Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hi All,

I am in the market for and researching a complete sound system package. I would like it to be centered around a Tube amp with tower speakers.

Initially, I was intent on finding a vintage setup to match a vintage tube amp, but I feel like that is too limiting of a path and not necessarily a core value for me. I just want a setup that is well known from a brand appeal and resale standpoint, has good aesthetics, and of course, has excellent sound.

Since I am new to this, I'm most nervous about finding a package with components that synergizes well with each other and ultimately leads to good sound. It's hard to find these components to begin with, let alone test them out in person. But my goal is to try and buy a "vetted" package once and hopefully end up with something awesome in one go.

With that, I'm hoping to seek the expertise of this forum on the following packages I have the opportunity to buy. I want to keep my budget for EVERYTHING, all said an done, under $8k at most.

Option 1:
    Speakers: B&W 802D
    Preamp: B&K Reference 20 or Nikko Beta 20
    Power amp: Nikko Alpha 130
    Phono preamp: Bellari VP-130

Unfortunately, there is no room for a tube amp in this budget.

Option 2:
    Speakers: B&W 804S
    Preamp: B&K Reference 20
    Power amp: McIntosh MC275
    Turntable and accessories: with money left over

Option 3:
    Speakers: McIntosh XR7
    Preamp: Cary SLP-2002 tube preamp
    Power amp: McIntosh MC275

What do you guys think of these 3 options? Also for the MC275, which is quite expensive, it's the current model with the LEDs and not the vintage one... what's a good used price for this amp?

2. vinylontubes

vinylontubes Forum Resident

My system is in the $8K range.
    Rogue Audio Cronus Magnum
    Magnepan 1.7