"Stranger Things" on Netflix

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by davidshirt, Jul 15, 2016.

1. Rufus McDufus

Rufus McDufus Forum Resident

"American Pie" at the end of episode 3 confused me. It sounded a bit rockier and polished, and I was trying to think who else recorded it (apart from Madonna, later, obviously). It is credited to Don McLean on Tunefind so I guess it is the original...

MikaelaArsenault likes this.
  2. mpayan

mpayan A Tad Rolled Off

Yeah I kind of just forced myself to watch the last episode.

MikaelaArsenault and Darrin L. like this.
  3. Pastafarian

Pastafarian Forum Resident

Up to episode 7 now and it's running out of steam, the story's unfolding to nothing much and no apparent jeopardy for the characters means we have to accept ridiculous action, at time it looks like a comedy spoof.

4. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I just finished season 3 last night. I consider this a BIG letdown after season 2 and I really can't understand anyone preferring S3 to S2. Never understood the hate for S2 anyway.

ST3 turned the series from being a creepy retro horror mystery to being a mashup of 80's action movies. Russians, unstoppable killer goon, Tech That Must Be Turned Off To Save The World, endless unrealistic fight scenes, it had it all, and most of it was bad. Did anyone believe that Jonathan and Hopper, having received the repeated beatings that they did, would still be able to walk? Actually most of the characters should have been unable to stand after their initial beatings but Jonathan and Hopper are the two most extreme examples.

There's no way that the whole Dustin/Susie thing works except as a parody.

So what happened to El's powers? Did the monster just slither off with her AA's or something?

I think the characters of Robin and Erica were equally ridiculous and annoying.