Marvel (MCU) Phase IV

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Deuce66, Jul 21, 2019.

1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I hesitate to get into this scuffle as it can only end badly, but IMHO turning Jane Foster into Thor or changing Sam Wilson into Captain America feels "forced." Sam Wilson is already an awesome superhero known as the Falcon. It's not necessary to make him into Captain America. Who says that there always has to be a Captain America? If the old white guys are so yesterday, retire 'em AND their characters. War Machine is more than an adequate successor to Iron Man - I'd go see a War Machine movie in an instant. I'd love to see the Falcon in a stand-alone movie. There's a lot of potential with already established characters that doesn't require making a "new" Thor or Captain America.

I suspect that few people were ever put out by Supergirl or She-Hulk because they didn't replace Superman or the Hulk. They were just variations on a theme.

Motorcity supernaut likes this.
  2. Isaac K.

Isaac K. Forum Resident

At this point I have to believe it is a personal choice on Jackson’s part. That Marvel hasn’t considered it by now would be crazy.

3. Isaac K.

Isaac K. Forum Resident

Before Rhoades was War Machine in the comics he was Iron Man for 2 whole years. Him becoming and using Iron Man armor makes sense now especially since War Machine is old tech dating back nearly a decade.

4. dkmonroe

Sorry, I'm not up on everything that has taken place in the comics. In the MCU, he's been War Machine all along and I think that works - people having their own identity is a good thing.

5. Isaac K.

Isaac K. Forum Resident