ATC SCM7 vs SCM11 ? Which one would you choose?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by insoc123, Jul 29, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. insoc123

insoc123 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hello. I'm new to ATC speakers sound but I have read many reviews about both speakers praising them for their great sound. I own a pair of KEF LS50 but even though I find they sound fantastic, I would like to go the extra mile and upgrade them to something better. I've read that the ATCs can handle more musical genres than the LS50s and that's important for me because I don't listen to audiophile recordings all the time but also 80s and 90s pop and rock that aren't known for having good recordings and you can find really bad recordings.

I know the SCM19 it's supposed to be the best of the entry level line but I wouldn't like to try the ATC sound paying $4,000 so my options are the SCM7 and the SCM11. If I really like the sound then in a near future I could upgrade to the SCM19 and use the other speakers in another room or sell them, BUT, in the meantime, do you think there is a great sonic difference between the 7 and the 11? The difference in price is $500.

The frequency response of the 7 is 60-22 and the 11 is 56-22 but specs sometimes doesn't mean that much in practical terms. Would the SCM7 gave me a much lesser experience than the SCM11?

Thank you very much for all your insight, best regards,

2. Dubmart

Dubmart Senior Member

I'd go 11s over 7s and 19s over both, I'm assuming you can't get a proper demo or home loan which would be the ideal answer, even though I love ATCs buying any speaker without hearing them isn't a good idea.

3. Mad shadows

Mad shadows Forum Resident

Why would you choose ATC SMC 11?

4. Dubmart

Dubmart Senior Member