King's X Song By Song Thread

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Jeff Kent, Mar 16, 2018.

1. Jeff Kent

Jeff Kent Forum Resident Thread Starter

If you like what you hear then go tell somebody...

As mentioned and requested in another thread, here begins what I hope becomes a long a fruitful discussion of everything King's X. Unlike many, I have not been a fan since Out Of The Silent Planet. I DO recall seeing magazine ads for the album when I was still entrenched in my Metal Years however. I fell hard for the band when I heard 'It's Love' on MTV in 1990. I was a sophomore in college and had just started dating the young woman who would become my wife. While we were apart for winter break I made her stay up late watching MTV because they said 'It's Love' was scheduled. She did so and it was at that moment I knew we were meant for each other...ok, I knew before that, but it sounds good here.

The following year I won tickets to see them at The Channel in Boston. We had to take the bus from Keene, NH to get to the show, but it was worth it. That show would later be released digitally as Burning Down Boston to raise money for drummer Jerry Gaskill's medical bills following a heart attack.

Since 1991 I have seen them more than 40 times, had formal interviews with dUg and Ty and been witness to an exclusive solo acoustic interview/performance for Sirius Radio that was recorded but never broadcast.

More than any other band, King's X means something special to my wife and I. It goes way beyond music. Please share YOUR King's X story and then we'll get on with the Songs.

[​IMG]

2. ElevatorSkyMovie

ElevatorSkyMovie Senior Member

I shared this in another thread, but I first heard "Over My Head" on a college station in '89. Loved it, but didn't know who it was.

A year later I head off to college. My roommate is a KX fan, playing FHL constantly. I go out and find all their first 3 albums on cd.