My DIY tonearm project continues

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Phil Thien, Aug 7, 2019.

1. Phil Thien

Phil Thien Forum Resident Thread Starter

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

My DIY tonearm project continues.

I got my parts from McMaster. Right now I'm using the aluminum spacers (instead of the stainless I also ordered) because they're light. The overall height of the arm is 1-3/8" but you need some clearance at the bottom for pivoting action. I'm trying to keep the height down because my platter/motor won't be too terribly high (they are pulls from an old Technics SL-6, if you recall).

I'll likely replace the screws with flat-heads to reduce the overall height and compensate for the tonearm wiring having to clear that front screw on top. My tonearm material is just 3/16" thick, so I might end up needing to order undercut screws (should have thought of that). I'll try countersinking carefully.

The wire I'm using is from a travel mouse, it is very fine, probably nearly 32 AWG. You can't tell from the pic but the section of wire with the insulation still in place has the shield wire running into the same hole as the rest of the wires, and then it wraps around the top part of my pivot component. So ground will be carried down through the pivot. I don't know at this point whether I'll even need a ground, but this is my pending/untested solution if I do.

The counterweight idea worked out extremely well. I can adjust weight and azimuth (because the counterweight can be shifted left/right). Right now I'm using washers and a nut/wingnut as my actual counterweight. Once I get further along, I can come up with a properly-sized more elegant solution.

The entire thing is very light, and extremely responsive without being wobbly. I think I could further lift the "headshell" area to do an even better job of aligning the stylus with the pivot, due to my low center of gravity counterweight method, without making for a wobbly unit.