Bent cantilever. Speed problem. Need help!

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by c.u.o.m., Aug 12, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. c.u.o.m.

c.u.o.m. New Member Thread Starter

Hi,
    I have a Technics SL-Q200 that was given to me a few months ago. I recently moved to a new place and after setting up my turntable I played a record and noticed the speed would change for a second and then go back to normal. I made a few adjustments to make sure the turntable was leveled, as I read this might cause this kind of problem but then I noticed the cantilever is actually bent :( I have no idea how this happened, I have zero knowledge about turntables. I had no problem with it before the move. I’ve read a couple of threads on the subject and I don’t know how severe the problem is and if the bent cantilever has anything to do with the speed problem.
    Here’s a link to some pictures I took of the cartridge. Bent cantilever
    Do I need to buy a knew cartridge? I’ve read some people manage to straighten the cantilever by themselves. Should I try to? If I succeed, is there a risk the cantilever might be damaged and for me not to notice it?
    Thanks in advance.

2. Leonthepro

Leonthepro Skeptically Optimistic

Yes, its very bent, and you should buy a new stylus at least. You can try and fix it if you want, but if it ruins it then you will have to buy an entire cartridge instead.

Did you get this cart with the turntable? If so then you should buy a new one anyway, its a rule of thumb, you have no idea how worn that stylus is. As for speeds, it might have something to do with the power source, since you moved places perhaps there is some fluctuation in the power or something. It would have to be trouble shooted anyway, something might have broke during the move, like the cantilever likely was.

Welcome to the forum.

Big Blue likes this.
  3. c.u.o.m.