Best headphones $75 or under?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by peskypesky, Aug 18, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peskypesky

peskypesky Forum Resident Thread Starter

Ok, I'm a HEAVY user of headphones, since 95% of my listening is with my laptop or DAP. So I break headphones at a pretty rapid rate. The plastic parts used in modern headphone production just do not stand up to the thousands of hours of use I give them. Even the Sony MDRV6 Studio Monitors I bought last year broke pretty quickly. I remember when Sony studio headphones would last decades. I'm a professional video editor and had a pair for about 17 years before they finally bit the dust. (I'm guessing the plastic they now use is just too brittle).

So, to get to the point, I no longer spend lots of money on headphones. They just break too quickly. So, I am looking for recommendations on sub-$75 over-ear headphones that you really like. Open or closed. I use both.

Right now, I'm using Samson SR850s, which seem to be a rebranding of Superlux headphones. These Samsons are very comfortable, lightweight, nice padding....and the sound is really good. Very robust bass, good mids, clear highs. Super impressive for $30. I will probably buy another pair of these if they break, unless I get better recommendations.

I do have a pair of Takstar Pro82's waiting for me at my brother's house in Austin....and they get excellent reviews...so I'm eager to hear them.

Any other recos?

Yam Graham likes this.
  2. Solitaire1

Solitaire1 Carpenters Fan

Koss PortaPros. They cost less than $50 for a pair and have a fairly good sound.

The following video will provide you with information on these headphones:

3. rcsrich

rcsrich Forum Resident

The Audio Technica ATH M40X are in that range, solidly built for the price and accurate.

DonNylon, all24bits, SKBubba and 3 others like this.
  4. peskypesky