Parting with CDs

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Adam9, Aug 10, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rodz42

Rodz42 Forum Resident

i'm thinking that they won't still be pressed in 20 years....in 10 probably, but not 20. Sales are dwindling too much despite the percentages you quoted. It may be 80% of physical sales, but it's 80% of something that is like 70% less than 20 years ago

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I listen to @Synthfreek 's personal Yacht Rock playlist on Spotify Free. I think he gave me access to it about 2-3 years ago. Thanks, Synthfreek!

I'm not keeping track of all the permutations of argument in this thread, but I will say that something that keeps becoming apparent is that a lot of people who reject streaming just don't really know much about it. It is a really powerful platform. It can do a lot of really cool things. And you don't have to ditch all your CDs and vinyl to enjoy it, it's just another way to enjoy music.

3. markreed

markreed Forum Resident

Streaming is fine and for me, its really just Radio 'on demand', but it won't replace physical purchases for me ; rather it is an additional option. I use it primarily to access streaming only options (and rip those through the analog hole or captures to be honest).

4. Colocally

Colocally One Of The New Wave Boys

Exactly. Not exactly the things that memories are made of are they?

j_rocker and Pop_Zeus like this.
  5. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

But of course, no need for it to replace anything. That's one of the difficulties of this debate is that people seem to think that you've got to ditch all your physical media and live in a one-bedroom dome home. :laugh:

6. schnitzerphilip

schnitzerphilip "Modern Dad" Unlocked Award

Google.