Upgraded to a Rega P3 and VM540ML...now what?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by 2ndtrumpet, Sep 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2ndtrumpet

2ndtrumpet Active Member Thread Starter

Hi guys! I'm a noob here, hoping y'all might find my situation interesting enough to weigh in on a possible solution.
    I recently bought a new turntable to replace an old Technics linear tracker with an A-T P-mount cartridge, and fully expected a nice upgrade to the sound of my mid-fi system.

Now I have: Rega Planar 3 with VM540ML, Sony STR-D515 AV receiver, DCM QED speakers.

I chose the Rega after hearing a P1, P2, and a P3, although I didn't care for the Carbon or Elys on classical LPs. So, I chose the VM540ML to get the clarity and transparency for orchestral and chamber music, thinking the jazz and acoustic rock would be fine. Well, now that I've played maybe 50 albums on it, the cartridge seems to have settled in and sounds pretty good on rock, jazz and some classical recordings, albeit a little brighter than I like. But, on most of my classical LPs (over half of my collection), strings and choral music (especially louder passes) sound hard, steely, harsh and somewhat smeared. I'm dissappointed.

Apparently, the upgrade exposed another weakness in my system, but I'm not sure how to address it. Likely culprits:
    1) The phono stage in my mid-90s Sony AV receiver may not be very good at all.
    2) There may be a mismatch between the cartridge and that phono stage. The VM540ML wants to see 47k resistance and 100-200pF capacitance. The Sony has 50k resistance, but I can't find the capacitance on the Rega wiring or the Sony anywhere. I've seen several comments explaining that if the total capacitance is higher than 200pF, the output can get very peaky in the treble. I think that's what I'm hearing.
    3) My receiver claims 70wpc, but at 0.8% THD - higher than most quality amps...maybe that plays a role here, too.