Does ' Jaws ' Still Have A Bite ?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Wildest cat from montana, Oct 6, 2019.

1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I read the Reader's Digest condensed version of the novel several months - maybe as much as a year - before the movie came out. And then I read the entire novel in the wake of the movie. I didn't understand at the time that it was considered in some ways to be a really poor novel at the time, and certainly in retrospect it ain't The Godfather. The whole sub-plot about the mob was unnecessary in the book, and the sleazy affair between Hooper and Mrs. Brody would have killed the movie commercially had it been included. However, I do think that the movie should have included the death of Hooper in the cage as the novel depicted it, and after years of reflection on this point, I think that if they had filmed the ending of the movie as depicted in the book, it may have made it a stronger movie. In the book, the shark very realistically dies of exhaustion after many hours of making war on the Orca and its crew. Spielberg changed the ending to the famous tank explosion and author Peter Benchley was so enraged by this that he walked off the set and never returned. For years I regarded the blow-up ending as the superior one ("the shark just died" lacks a certain excitement), but I've come around to Benchley's side in my later years. Jaws was a serious movie that took its characters seriously, and the rather logic-defying stunt at the end risks making it not just another cheesy horror movie, but the father of cheesy horror movies.

2. Ghostworld

Ghostworld Senior Member

Yes, jaws has a blow-em-up ending, but the characters are so beautifully crafted it elevates the film to “cinema,” as Martin Scorsese might have said lately.

3. joannenugent

joannenugent Forum Resident

I found a BBC review that sums up a lot of my reactions to seeing Jaws for the first time last year: