Does ' Jaws ' Still Have A Bite ?

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Wildest cat from montana, Oct 6, 2019.

1. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Yeah, but the method is insanely contrived. The shark just HAS to swim a football field away from the boat and charge at Brody ONE LAST TIME! :laugh: AND not let the tank slip from its mouth. Brody actually hitting the tank with a bullet is the most realistic think about the whole scenario, and even that's a ... wait for it .....LONG SHOT! :agree:

But yeah, the cathartic release aspect is good, and it's a great ending if you don't think about it too much.

2. Ghostworld

Ghostworld Senior Member

Jaws was never a “horror movie”. I would never classify it as such.

3. Mainline461

Mainline461 Forum Resident

I was an usher (summer job) in a theater on first run and we knew when to go into the theater and watch the crowd freak/scream. We (the ushers and concession girls) found the biggest reaction was when Hooper shines the flashlight into the hole in the hull of the listing boat and that head floats with it's optic nerve floating around … no, imo it hasn't lost it's bite.

4. Damien DiAngelo

Damien DiAngelo Forum Resident

My Ex showed the original Jaws to my daughter and a few of her friends about 7-10 ish years ago. The kids would have been in their tween years.

They were not impressed or scared at all. They did more laughing than anything else. Definitely a movie of it's time.

5. Raylinds

Raylinds Resident Lake Surfer

I saw Jaws when it was first released in the theater while vacationing at an oceanside cottage, so it definitely had an impact on me at the time. I have not seen it in years, so probably should revisit it.

Brenald79 likes this.
  6. ralphb

ralphb "First they came for..."

Yep, same here. It's impact has diminished over time due to parodies and rip-offs, although John Sayles "Alligator" is a real hoot.
    Have to admit though, when we saw "Jaws 2", we rooted for the shark.