Do I need a new needle?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by TheStyne, Oct 8, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheStyne

TheStyne Active Member Thread Starter

Hi there,

I'm really new to turntables and records, so please bear with me.

I recently got a turntable for my birthday. It's the Victrola 3-speed turntable with Bluetooth. I don't know if it's any good or not, but it's what I've got. The night I got it, I wanted to try it out, so I played some old records we had around the house. These were in extremely bad shape, as they were my recorded blanks from the early 40's that had not been handled with care.

Today I bought Black Celebration by Depeche Mode, brand new. When playing it, I've noticed quite a bit of distortion, which surprised me. People rave about the sound quality of vinyl, and this doesn't sound nearly as good as digital.

So my question is, is this normal? Does vinyl always sound like this? The player came with a replacement needle, is it possible I ruined this one on the old, horrible condition records? Should I try the included replacement needle? I already checked for dirt, and it's clean.

Thanks, Alex.

Echoes Myron likes this.
  2. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker

Welcome to the forum, fellow TO member.

You have a 50$ turntable so yes, it will sound pretty terrible. Not sure why you expect to be blown away with what's a novelty gadget, no offense. Don't waste any time or money on it and buy something better or there's no point bothering with it. Your Depeche Mode LP likely cost you about half of what the turntable is worth!

Even a used one bought from Kijiji would be 10x better. If you want to stick to the cheap stuff, here's a used one for 100$ (180$ new) that will sound much better and won't destroy your records. Don't expect miracles at this price but this will still be a giant leap for the better.