Does turning tube amp and preamp on at exactly the same time hurt them?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Funky54, Oct 9, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Funky54

Funky54 Coat Hangers do not sound good Thread Starter

I have always turned on my pre-amplifier and turntable first, then my amplifier last. I did this in the reverse order to turn them off. Starting with the amp than the preamp.

What I am asking is, is there any ill effects to turning them on and off at exactly the same moment?

In addition to loving two channel, by profession, I am a smart home low-voltage Integrator. I have some very well-built nicely designed controlled receptacles. I am considering using one to turn on or off a nice power conditioner that has all my gear plugged into it and Left on all the time. That way I’m controlling the switch providing the conditioner with power.

2. Agitater

Agitater Forum Resident

It depends on the design of the preamp. Some
    preamps stage nicely and once their internal self-test is done (capacitors charged, etc., etc.) cycle on without spiking into the amp.

Some preamps, external turntable controllers and even DACs don’t play nice and cause loud spikes. The solution to that is to always ensure that the preamp volume control is either turned all the way off or muted when switching things on and off.

billnunan and The FRiNgE like this.
  3. Rolltide

Rolltide Forum Resident

It seems from about 1950-1977 this was definitely necessary and from there graduated to YMMV. My guess is few modern solid state preamps still do this, but I'm sure we could find some.

4. SandAndGlass

SandAndGlass Twilight Forum Resident

In pro audio, the rule is to turn the gear on in order starting with the source, moving to the preamp and then finally to the power amp.

Pro audio gear is generally turned off in reverse order, starting with the power amp.

I leave my tube preamp on mostly 24/7 so it does not really apply here.