Budget(ish) Speakers

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by The_Audiophile, Oct 10, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The_Audiophile

The_Audiophile Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hi Guy's;

I'm a STUDENT looking to buy a decent pair of speakers (Speaker Cable) for my Hi-Fi Setup. this setup is located in small to mid size bedroom.

Ill run through the system I have at the moment, The music I listen to and then discuss budget ETC.

Amp: Pioneer A-300X

Turn Table: Audio Technica LP120

Cassette Deck: Yamaha KX-580 Special Edition

Cd Player: Marantz CD 52 MKII- Special Edition

Bluetooth Device: Google Audio Cast.

(Any comments/Constructive Criticism on above equipment are welcome too!)

As for my Taste in music/What I listen to; I listen to anything but gear more towards Rock/Classic Rock, 80s pop, Movie Soundtracks.

As a Student my budget isnt wild it would be €150-€200 although if there are FAR BETTER speakers in the €200-€300 I could save for an extra few weeks/months and get them.

Im happy with new or vintage as long as there working.

Obviously doing a small bit of research i have come across the Wharfendale 9.1 Diamonds on amazon with Spectacular reviews; however as average Joe soap adam can put his review up there and have it count I didnt want to assume the quality from that.

Thanks in advance guys.

CrazyCatz likes this.
  2. Lots to read up on the Andrew Jones Pioneer and Elac speaker offerings. Tremendous value.

Tim S, bhazen, Vignus and 4 others like this.
  3. Richard Austen

Richard Austen Forum Resident

Wharfedale do make excellent budget speakers. So it's a good place to start.

4. arcamsono

arcamsono Senior Member

I have a pair of 7,or 8 diamonds.
    Very solid .

CrazyCatz and Tawaun A Williams like this.
  5. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member