Stranger than Fiction, Larger Than Life: the Finn Brothers song-by-song discussion thread

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Lance LaSalle, Jan 21, 2019.

1. StefanWq

StefanWq Forum Resident

I hadn't actually even seen the thread on that forum until you mentioned it here today. Interesting that Tim (before the record was released) and Phil M (after the record was released) seem to have slightly different opinions on who did what in the songwriting process. I've never read any article where Tim has tried to take more credit than he deserves for any song, but I've seen him point out that for some Finn Brothers songs (such as "Tall Trees" and "Four Seasons In One Day") he was only a minor contributor. So if Tim said he wrote melodies and lyrics I believe him. Though it is very common in the music world that there are different opinions about who did what and how big their contribution was. When I worked in the music copyright industry, I set up legal disputes between songwriters (via their publishing companies, acting on behalf of their clients) several times each working day and there are quite a lot of songs where such disputes remain unresolved many years later (meaning all royalties for such songs are withheld until the dispute is resolved).

D.B., HitAndRun and Lance LaSalle like this.
  2. StefanWq

StefanWq Forum Resident

I agree with this. I can totally imagine this track being on "Big Canoe" and how it would sound produced by Nick Launay and performed by the musicians on that album. I can also imagine it being performed by the musicians on the "Tim Finn" album and produced by Mitchell Froom - though I think Mitchell Froom, as he seems to have been fond of doing, might have suggested Tim use the verses from this song and the chorus from some other song. I don't think the chorus, such as it is now, would have got past Mitchell Froom's critical ears.