Bill Laswell?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by frimleygreener, Nov 7, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frimleygreener

frimleygreener "It 'a'int why...it just is" Thread Starter

Not often mentioned here: I have heard a couple of his solo albums, some of his work with Material,and pieces with Jah Wobble. He has a pretty large discography...could any kind soul with more exposure to his works make any reccomendations as to his strongest works?

2. gd0

gd0 Looney Tunes and Merrie Melodies

I'm not a BL expert, but enjoy most everything I've heard. Saw him play last year in an avant-rock trio.

He's got an extensive listing on Bandcamp, with lotsa samples.

Bill Laswell

Anything by Praxis is good. I also picked up what seems to be a compilation, Secrets Of Fascination.

Enjoy.

3. Sneaky Pete

Sneaky Pete Flat the 5 and That’s No Jive

Baselines, his Ambient Dub albums and Paychonavigation are all good. Some of his production jobs and collaborations are pretty good too. I like his work with Sly and Robbie and I loved the album Ekstasis that he did with guitarist Nicky Skopelitis and Radioaxiom: A Dub Transmission with Jay Wobble.

He is an interesting character and musician but you can delve deep into his work and go down the rabbit hole. He’s very prolific and doesn’t seem to stop working.

4. Bluesman Mark

Bluesman Mark I'm supposed to put something witty here....

All I've got by him is Funkcronomicon, the 2 CD compilation of his work with various members of P Funk, but it's pretty damned incredible.