Don't try this with a modern turntable! Torture test of Zenith Micro-Touch 2G tonearm

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by vwestlife, Nov 27, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vwestlife

vwestlife Forum Resident Thread Starter

An amazing demonstration film for the 1962 Zenith Micro-Touch 2G tonearm, showing its development, manufacture, and some extreme torture tests that a modern turntable would fail miserably:

2. Gaslight

Gaslight ⎧⚍⎫⚑

That LP is warped

CBackley likes this.
  3. Exotiki

Exotiki The Future Ain’t What It Use To Be

That needle drag at 0:15 gave me a ****ing heart attack

CBackley, AaronW and Lucca90 like this.
  4. csgreene

csgreene Forum Resident

You know, I have a 1969 Zenith Z931 console in my dining room with that turntable and arm. I've never tried the test but I've seen it before. Considering the age of the unit, it works and sounds pretty OK. I like to play period correct easy listening music and standards on it.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Since these photos were taken, I added a little Bluetooth receiver plugged into the tape input (as this unit doesn't have the optional tape player) and stream from my phone at mealtime if we decide not to spin a little vinyl.

McLover, beowulf, TheKevster and 12 others like this.
  5. McLover

McLover Senior Member

This, vwestlife, is what ceramic cartridges should be right now. This beats any of the new ones, and most of the old ones, and is gentle on records. Our host and I (mine with the Philco, with the Tetrad competition to this cartridge with the VM changer)'s record collections played on one of these are still good as new with periodic stylus changes, and serviced changers as needed. This cartridge system was as gentle on record life as the Shure M 44/M 55 or Stanton 500 A was then in a Dual or ELAC/Miracord changer or the Garrard LAB 80.

6. harby

harby Forum Resident