Amazon HD Music goes live

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by BubbaMc, Sep 17, 2019.

1. Tim S

Tim S Senior Member

In short it means that because all this is going through the windows mixer/system what is actually coming out of your computer is totally dependent on the settings you choose for your device capability.

If you set them lower than the streaming file, windows will downsample.

If you set them higher than the streaming file, windows will upsample.

The resolution shown in the amazon app means nothing.

The resolution shown on your DAC means nothing.

2. scoredaddy

scoredaddy Forum Resident

yes, shows as playing at 24/192 but audio captured from the stream, when viewing the sound wave, reveals exactly what I said. See image below.
    [​IMG]

3. Tim S

Tim S Senior Member

What are your windows audio device settings when you captured this stream?

4. texquad

texquad Senior Member

I'm new to Amazon music and only signed on to hear the Ultra HD tracks. When I check the resolution while listening to UHD tracks Amazon shows that the "Track Quality": 24/96 but my PC's "Device Capability" is only: 24/44.1 and it's "Currently Playing" at 24/44.1. Sometimes UHD tracks only play at 16/44.1. I get get periodic dropouts. I use Spectrum formally TimeWarner for my internet provider. I've started using a external USB headphone DAC that should do 24/192. Does that help? I have noticed I get better track quality on my Samsung S9. Do I need to up my internet speed to make this work properly on my PC?

5. OpethPA

OpethPA Embracing my inner geek

Internet Speed , assuming you are not running on a shared 5mb connection, is not going to be the least likely culprit so before you up that there are multiple other steps to try.

What is the current computer you are running on? What version of Windows, assuming that is what you are running, and have you followed the various guides out there for maximizing Windows sound.

6. sami

sami Mono still rules