Barnes & Noble in-store Bl. Fri. music deals?

Discussion in 'Coupons, Discounts & Sales' started by Black Elk, Nov 30, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. heepsterandrey

heepsterandrey Forum Resident

I love this forum! I got:
    David Gilmour - Rattle That Lock
    Jimi Hendrix - Machine Gun
    The Eagles - Desperado
    The Who - A Quick One
    Deep Purple -Burn (Rocktober)
    Pink Floyd - Ummagumma, More, Obscured By Clouds, The Final Cut

RubenH and Davidmk5 like this.
  2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Unfortunately I've never heard the CD version so I can't compare the two. The vinyl set is, well, interesting. I've heard many of these tracks on boots and my first impression is that many of these tracks have been through a lot of de-noise processing and editing. They're not arranged chronologically which is a bit disappointing - there's a sense of progression needed. The source tapes for some of these seem to be of pretty poor quality. I don't expect that this vinyl set sounds much better than the equivalent CDs. Over all, there's a few tracks that impress with dynamic, lively performances, but many of them just don't really "jump" out of the speakers at you. Many don't sound appreciably different from the studio versions (such as "Come On"), which makes me wonder if sometimes the original recordings were used instead of a live or re-recorded performance. The vocal performances are obviously different, but the band often doesn't sound appreciably different. In conclusion, to have obtained this at a 50% discount is no bad thing but it's no sonic masterpiece.

RubenH and Davidmk5 like this.
  3. domesticmachine

domesticmachine Resident Forum