Mono vs Stereo - I'm just gonna say it...

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Vinyl is final, Jan 14, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vinyl is final

Vinyl is final Not Insane - I have a sense of humor Thread Starter

In music reproduction, mono is to stereo what, in photography, black and white is to color. I say that as someone that loves good black and white photography, but understand that color is infinitely more versatile.

Fact is, I've been a photographer since I worked for my school newspaper in 1971. I learned very early on that some photos actually look better in black and white. And in a very real way, all black and white is "abstract art". It is not intended to look real. A photo of a scene with a lot of "color clutter" can suddenly look clean in B&W. And often, a large bright or dark object suddenly becomes the focus in a B&W photograph. And use some AS400 film or even push it, and you get a nice grit that is enhanced by the gray-scale when one wants to give an image a good edge.

But the point is that usually B&W is there to simplify a shot - to somewhat limit the amount of subject matter and focus on bringing across a certain emotional response. I've noticed my favorite black and white shots are either of large blocks of dark and light, or of faces, designed to focus on the expression or texture, rather than color. And texture is the name of the game in B&W, IMO.