Beatles BC13. I have awoken from Golden slumber

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Stusaff, Jan 14, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stusaff

Stusaff Forum Resident Thread Starter

Good afternoon all.

Based on the excellent advice of forum members I have sourced some great sounding pressings of Beatles stereo albums (Die Beatles, Horzu MMT) and finally BC13 (The blue box)
    There have been many threads on this, but this one is slightly different, and I also realise that what I will write may be slightly contentious!
    So as background, I have been collecting Beatles vinyl LPs for 30+ years, I’m lucky to have sourced mint first pressings (mono & stereo) of all the albums apart from the ultra wallet busting first press (or second press) stereo PPM, but I have all the others, I have all the EMI one box, and two box “Gramaphone rim” pressings as well
    Now for the point, over the last week or so I have been playing the BC13 (1978-81 pressing) EMI rim text, everyone stone cold mint, and going through the matrices every side is solid state cut apart from one side of the WA which has a -1 stamper.
    What I have noticed is that on my system (detailed in profile) the BC13 sound quality knocks every other pressing I have into a cocked hat!
    The BC13 has depth, sweet trebles, tight bass, more air, better separation. To my ears they sound perfect. In comparison, all my other pressings sound “confused”, a bit hot in the trebles, lose base. So I’m thinking, this is a solid state v tube situation?? Is it my ears playing tricks, if someone said to me that every other copy I have would be taken away and I would just have the BC13 left......fine by me. Is this due to how they were cut back in the 60’s for the equipment of the time? And what is it with all the EQ and compression? Is this how the Beatles should “sound”
    Oh, 1 exception. PPM Die Beatles is MUCH better than the BC13 PPM.

2. Exotiki

Exotiki The Future Ain’t What It Use To Be