Audio Note Kit DAC 2.1 Build

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by DyersEve726, Oct 12, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neiro

Neiro Forum Resident

'Giving Brian the benefit of the doubt' big mistake

timind and SandAndGlass like this.
  2. SandAndGlass

SandAndGlass Twilight Forum Resident

See below post...

But again, the key words here are "assuming the omissions are well documented" which, from reading through these threads, does not appear to be the case.

That does appear to be the reality, does it not?

That would not be on the top of my list of concerns. As a former kit builder, I'm sued to standing way back when I power up a kit under construction, ever on the alert for sparks, smoke, buzzing and ozone.

Only after the "all clear" do I attempt any intrusion into the amp itself. From my early teen and elementary school tube kit building experiences, I have long since learned to use extreme caution around high voltages.

3. Xarkkon

Xarkkon Would you like a Custom Title?

Thanks for the very detailed writeup! I was hoping that Brian would have learned from your feedback but judging from recent posters, nothing seems to have changed. I'll be staying real far away from ANK, which is disappointing as I've been eyeing their kits for a long time!

I guess it's back to bottlehead and maybe some hypex kits for me in the future :)

4. DyersEve726

DyersEve726 Schmo Diggy Thread Starter

What is crazy is that I'd do it again, lol. Despite everything, it is my most prized piece of gear and I'd fight someone to the death over it. I'm half tempted to offer to deal with Brian and build these for other forum members, for a fee.

jusbe and Richard Austen like this.
  5. Xarkkon

Xarkkon Would you like a Custom Title?

hope it's not a stockholm syndrome thing going on! heh.

glad to hear about the happy ending :) maybe i'll attempt one when i actually know what i'm doing and am better equipped to handle the BS

6. Rolltide