Classical Corner Classical Music Corner

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by George P, May 29, 2015.

1. Buzzman3535

Buzzman3535 Forum Resident

Hello-

posed this question and was directed to ask it in this thread. Any recommendations would be appreciated:

I am basically a novice in the classical genre.

Could you recommend your favorite piece of music and tell me why its good.

I would like to spend some time with a few of the recommendations, but would like to understand in layman terms why its appreciated over and above other pieces.

I can't read music and I don't know more than the basics on the major composers. I am sure that enthusiasts have like 100 pet recommendations, but if you don't mind I don't want to suffer information overload.

Please pick on of your favorites. If I end up liking these I intend to buy on vinyl so if you want to include a pressing recommendation too that would be appreciated.

George P likes this.
  2. George P

George P Notable Member Thread Starter

Beethoven's sonatas were my first love in classical music and remain my favorite. Why is it good? It had great tension, excitement, beauty and drama.

A good start would be this CD:

[​IMG]

Wes H, Marzz and dale 88 like this.
  3. HiResGeek

HiResGeek Seer of visions

I will essentially reiterate what I posted in the OP's thread:

Since I don't know anything about your musical tastes, and classical music has so many different genres, there is a high degree of probability that what I suggest won't resonate with you. At the risk of skirting the rules, I will recommend a recording which is one of my favorites that I think also has broad appeal to a classical neophyte.

Bach: 6 Brandenburg Concertos
    Munich Bach Orchestra & Karl Richter
    Arkiv-DG