2019 Beatles UK Singles boxed set (Was: "Beatles Mystery Boxed Set")*

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Monasmee, Jun 5, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AnalogJ

AnalogJ Hearing In Stereo Since 1959

It IS what was discussed by the person to whom I responded.

1) Debate it if you want. It is an explanation I have read from engineers. I didn't say I was an expert on that.

2. lukpac

lukpac Senior Member

No, it's not. Digital mastering is being discussed. Not CDs.

Gila likes this.
  3. AnalogJ

AnalogJ Hearing In Stereo Since 1959

Some did complain about the sometimes thin, harsh top end. Since these are largely analog, it does say that you can produce that sound quality in the analog domain.

To @lukpac, CDs is where many form their opinion about digital sound. Personally, I have heard digitally mastered records sound very good. But I'm pointing out why some used that technology to describe the sound.

4. Onrd

Onrd I am not a number

All I know is that my ears tell me these do not sound as good as the original vinyl pressings or the newer vinyl album compilations. The packaging and vinyl is terrific but the end product is underwhelming. It would be easier to accept at half the price. But nobody forced me to buy these.

Alex Zabotkin likes this.
  5. Exotiki

Exotiki The Future Ain’t What It Use To Be

I’m gonna go out here and just say some things that have been said are completely false. High Quality Flat Digital Transfers have:

No effect on DR numbers
    No effect on EQ
    No inherent compression
    No inherent distortion

those are all things inherent to either the source material or the mastering choices

6. Charlie Z.

Charlie Z. Forum Resident

I finally got the chance to listen to this set this week after getting it for Christmas. I'm am very happy to report that I had ZERO warpage and do not remember hearing so much as a pop or click throughout the entire box.