Ethernet cable vs WiFi for streamer

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Katz, Mar 22, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Katz

Katz Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hello.

I was wondering if there is any study/measurement done by anyone online regarding what sounds better in connecting your streamer to the internet : cable or wifi?

Many people prefer cable, and are set on it, however, some people, including the guys at Auralic, recommend always using WiFi, justifying it by saying that a physical connection (cable) to the router/etc inevitably transfers electrical noise from the source device (which is never really well shielded or silent at the same level hifi equipment is made).

So is there any imperical data? I tend to agree with the logic - physical connection can definitely transfer electrical noise, and while I'm no expert, the guys over at Auralic, which make some of the best streamers on the market, are indeed experts.

2. Veni Vidi Vici

Veni Vidi Vici Forum Resident

Ethernet cables do not transfer electrical noise - that betrays an utter incomprehension of digital technology.

WiFi will be more prone to interference and latency issues.

jimbutsu, Carlox, conjotter and 7 others like this.
  3. rebellovw

rebellovw Forum Resident

No difference as it is a digital signal - I use wifi with mine.

vinnn, Coltrane811 and Glmoneydawg like this.
  4. LakeMountain

LakeMountain Vinyl surfer

Did Auralic perhaps mean “digital” noise for the Ethernet cable?

Your WiFi needs to be strong without interference sources and to compete with an Ethernet cable, imo.

5. Katz

Katz Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Source: What is the preferred network connection?

We always recommend wireless network as a preferred connection if your WiFi network is good for streaming audio.

There are a a couple of reasons: