Did the Beatles know much about music theory?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by johnny33, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Driver 8

Driver 8 Senior Member

I've made this point before, but, in my experience, the hot-shot guitar theory guru at the guitar store who gives lessons and can play every Led Zeppelin solo note-for-note* is either (1) incapable of writing original songs at all or (2) incapable of writing memorable original songs, while technically "incompetent" self-taught musicians like Peter Buck, Neil Young, or even Lennon ("I can't really play, but I can make it howl and move") and McCartney are the ones who write the songs that millions hum on their way to work each morning. Go figure.

*One could take this argument even further, and note that highly technically sophisticated soloists such as Jimmy Page are also incapable of writing original songs, at least compared to more "limited" players such as Pete Townshend: it is well documented that many of Page's "compositions" are nothing more than re-workings/re-arrangements of others' songs/arrangements - i.e., "Whole Lotta Love," "Dazed and Confused," "Babe, I'm Gonna Leave You," and many, many others.

2. Squealy

Squealy Forum Hall Of Fame

On the other hand, the problem with only knowing three chords is that you can only write songs with those three chords in them.

3. Dave D

Dave D Done!

"highly technically sophisticated soloists such as Jimmy Page"?????:confused:

John, I know you love to slam Led Zep, but you are SO far off on this. Page is nothing but a blues based lead guitar player! He's no Steve Vai!!! And to say Jimmy wasn't capable of writing original songs is , sorry to say ... DUMB!

4. Driver 8

Driver 8 Senior Member