Noob Vinyl System

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by blackholematter, May 22, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blackholematter

blackholematter Active Member Thread Starter

Relative noob here to the entry level hifi vinyl world. With so many options and opinions, I've been having a hard time "fairly" assessing my system. I would appreciate comments on any obvious weak link and on upgrade contenders.

Here's the system: Yamaha A-S501; U-Turn Orbit with Ortofon 2M Blue; Monitor Bronze 2; Pro-Ject Tube Box DS2.

The DS2 is brand new and I haven't received interconnects yet. I've been relying on the A-S501's internal preamp (which IMO seems pretty good).

Apart from overall comments on the system, I would be interested to hear about what turntable and / or cartridge upgrades would make sense.

For instance, keeping everything else the same, would a Rega Planar 6 be too "much" for the current system?

Also, does it make sense to consider upgrading the cartridge to an Ortofon 2M Bronze. I've run the current 2M Blue for about 2 years and am approaching around 1000 hours, and found a new 2M Bronze for $340 (swapped from a new TT).

2. Leonthepro

Leonthepro Skeptically Optimistic

1000 hours is too long for an Elliptical. I know Ortofon states that timeframe now but it just does not comport with most other papers or even their previous recommendations a few years back.
    Invest in good carts early to preserve your collection. Dont cheap out on that part. A Bronze could be a good route indeed since it has that Line contact stylus.

The system seems fairly well rounded, what are you looking for?
    Better sound? What kind of better? If you feel a Planar 6 is in the budget have you considered cleaning machines?