The Grateful Thread

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by JRM, Apr 11, 2014.

1. lucan_g

lucan_g Forum Resident

If you listened to Dancing for the very first time... I hope you listened to the rest of it for the very first time as well! I'd hate for you to miss out on the opportunity to chime in threads declaring the show to be overrated and barely worth discussing compared to the rest of May.

(Which is simply another way of saying... I've had this tape for ever and I'm a jaded vet. But it might make you feel cool.)

Guy Smiley likes this.
  2. StarThrower62

StarThrower62 Forum Resident

I didn't listen to the rest. I've learned to take the hype with a grain of salt. When I read blurbs like "best concert by anyone at anytime in history" I just roll my eyes.

US Blues and ianuaditis like this.
  3. lucan_g

lucan_g Forum Resident

Good call.

You really should listen to it though. A lotta hype for this show...but it also is a very good performance.

4. StarThrower62

Oh yeah! I can hear that the band is playing very well together. But I usually pick out certain favorite tunes to listen to from different shows. Pretty much all of those are in the 2nd set of Cornell.

lucan_g likes this.
  5. lucan_g

lucan_g Forum Resident

The second set is a monster and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

uzn007, Guy Smiley, ratstack and 2 others like this.
  6. StarThrower62

I just follow my muse. When the time is right for my brain and ears to hear certain music, things just click and I enjoy my epiphanies.

MattG, US Blues and peskypesky like this.
  7. ratstack

ratstack Forum Resident

Oh brother, get the back to Cornell, ASAP and turn it up. I’m not saying it’s “the best concert by anyone at anytime in history,” but as a dead fan you’re doing yourself a great disservice by dismissing it just because it’s popular. It’s not to be missed. *the whole thing too, not just the 2nd set

WaterLemon, Guy Smiley and bliss44 like this.
  8. StarThrower62