Upgrade from HD 650?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Vaughan, May 23, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vaughan

Vaughan Forum Resident Thread Starter

I'm sure this will have been discussed before, but I couldn't find it.

I use a pair of HD 650's daily, and it's been a bit of a love affair. For me they really hit the spot when it comes to bass response and clarity. They have bass, but it's not boomy. It seems like everything I tried before these (which I've been using for more than two years) either had very little bass, or bass over everything else.

Either way, the HD 650's are one heck of a great headphone. But the question is - is there an upgrade to an even better set of cans? Let me set a budget of say..... $750.

Any ideas?

2. Deuce66

Deuce66 Senior Member

Is there anything about the HD650 that you don't like? If you're perfectly happy with them and it sounds like you are my advice is to stick with them until you're ready to make the leap into the $1,000 and up headphone category.

Head-Fi.org is a good place to check for information.

Opeth likes this.
  3. intensemojo

intensemojo Forum Resident

Have you tried planars? The lcd-x by audeze is an outstanding pair of cans. I’ve seen them as b-stock in your price range.

Glmoneydawg and adamos like this.
  4. spartree

spartree Forum Resident

I was an HD650 guy for years. It’s a great headphone. I’m now looking closely at Audeze’s LCD line, probably the LCD-2 or -3. The LCD-2 Classic will fit your budget.
    LCD-2 Classic

Glmoneydawg and adamos like this.
  5. adamos

adamos Forum Resident

I’m also curious about Audeze and have been looking into the LCD-2C. I’m happy with my HD-6XX but that’s one that I’d really like to try.

6. Radio

Radio Forum Resident

What kind of amplification are you using for the 650s? Supposedly they "scale" very well with higher quality amps, so that may be something to consider in terms of an upgrade.

Benzion and wgb113 like this.