I Must Say...Tidal’s Blowin’ My Mind!

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Khorn, May 24, 2020.

1. Aardvark23

Aardvark23 Forum Resident

Somebody on the forum recommended Ethernet over 120VAC using a device like the TP-Link TL-PA8010P. For $40, the thing worked miracles for my streaming - eliminated all my buffering issues.

vegafleet and jupiterboy like this.
  2. Stereosound

Stereosound Forum Resident

To you maybe but I don’t see it that way at all. Oh well....

3. manxman

manxman Forum Resident

What is the resolution of the Rumours FLAC files? If 44.1/16, I can easily understand how the hi-res MQA could sound better, but if both the FLAC and the MQA have the same resolution then I'm scratching my head.

4. Khorn

Khorn Dynagrunt Obversarian Thread Starter

Ive been listening to MQA for a few months now and on a couple of very different systems.
    My take is that in many cases MQA provides me with a more “analogue” type sound with a more palpable presentation across the board.

Before recently getting into it, streaming and Tidal and MQA weren’t on my radar at all. I had no preconceived opinions on any of it. My DAC/Streamers were purchased on the advice of trusted others.

All that I can tell you is what I hear through my systems and my ears. I can’t for a minute tell you “how and why“ but in most cases I’m impressed and like it.

Tim 2 and B-Mike like this.
  5. jupiterboy

jupiterboy Forum Residue

I only have a toe in the water. Cheap DAC. However the results with hi-res are much better than CD, and in some ways better than vinyl. I see hear the potential. What I don’t like are all the versions and the dodgy software, updates, endless flash updates and file management. We shall see.

6. Slimwhit33

Slimwhit33 Forum Resident