Considering Large Tube PushPulls... Advice!

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by jkull, Jun 30, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jkull

jkull destroyer of cookie cutters Thread Starter

So, I stick to one audio system, in my designated listening room. Currently LS50W’s, utilizing the built in preamps, and DACS and all. A great all in one system and a total 180 from my previous system, which included an LM219ia, tubes rolled to my liking, through a pair of cornwalls (SET & high efficiency speakers).

I enjoyed the LM219IA for all of its sonic attributes, however.. I decided ultimately it was not practical to please my listening habits. I listen to a wide range of music, from female vocal driven stuff, to classical at times, soft rock, etc., but also plenty of heavier, dynamic stuff as well. I am an active musician involved in music of this sort and the majority of my record collection is of this sort of genre. Clarity in my SET system was excellent, but it was not fit to serve in ‘fullness’ and slam/impact that drives this sort of heavier music properly. Those who know, understand what I mean. SETS can do some wonderful things, but they are not always the optimal choice for us all.. Unfortuately.

I sold this system and kept things completely simple by grabbing the KEFs. The KEFs really are great. They punch and slam well with their little 5.5” drivers due to DSP and the engineering behind mating their amplifiers specifically to the driver etc.

Now....
    I am considering tubes again. If I go back to tubes, it will be bigger power, push pull topology... So, I figure I’ll go right to larger monoblocks, with big, heavy iron, which would be more to my needs. Faster, better for dynamic swings, more power etc. I do like what tubes do as far as imaging, bringBut the music to life, and enhancing a live, in the room feel. I would love these attributes, but I also don’t want be longing for more slam or impact.