VG+ Vinyl with Deep, Audible Scratches?

Discussion in 'Marketplace Discussions' started by warpedwing, Jul 11, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. warpedwing

warpedwing Forum Resident Thread Starter

I am somewhat new to buying vinyl online. I've had pretty good luck so far, but I just received a copy of On the Beach by Neil Young that was graded as VG+ both on the disc and the sleeve. Note said "solid copy. Handwritten name on cover and inner sleeve." I'm not that bothered by that as I am more interested in a good playing copy.

I receive the disc and I notice that the corner is cut and there's also a name written on the record label itself. OK, fine. I'm not even upset by this, so long as it sounds good. I give it a play, and I notice 2 or 3 deep, audible scratches on both sides of the record. This I'm not happy about. Photos attached. Forgive the dust, I hadn't cleaned it yet, and now I probably won't bother.

So, am I right in saying that this copy is not a VG+? Should I send it back? I've not had to do this before so any advice would be warmly welcomed. Thank you.

Imgur

2. Gaslight

Gaslight ⎧⚍⎫⚑

Grading is always tricky but as a seller myself, if that plays like it looks then that's a VG to me - maybe even G+. But more importantly it should have been mentioned in the listing as audible.

VG+, for me, is a playable copy. Looks used with some surface noise but nothing overpowering. Once it overpowers the music that falls into VG/G+ territory.

3. My Home Townes

My Home Townes Forum Resident

By forum standards, which are pretty universal, the condition of the record is Good as there are “scratches that produce noise.” A VG+ record is an “excellent condition record that plays well.”

Take no hesitation is returning and getting a refund for the record. It is an unfortunate, but necessary, part of buying records online.

chazz101s and black sheriff like this.
  4. warpedwing

My Home Townes likes this.
  5. quicksrt