Parasound amps appreciation thread

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by pdxway, May 31, 2019.

1. avanti1960

avanti1960 Forum Resident

so true, thank you.

BLAKE1 and Rick58 like this.
  2. Rick58

Rick58 Forum Resident

Kind of funny, many folks like tube pre and SS power, I've been running the 'opposite' for several years (after running 'all tube' for a few years) and do like it. I guess I only have had tube pre and SS power for a short while when I borrowed a friend's SS amp. I did like the increased power and I think a little more clarity, but not enough to make a permanent change. It was an Acurus A250.

I did read elsewhere a long time ago, someone recommended SS pre (especially head amps) for lowest noise on the smallest signals then tube power amp for the 'tube magic'. I wasn't really thinking about that per se but my system evolved to that. Now I'm going to explore all SS, P 7 pre into A 21 amp. When I can get to Idaho that is ... sigh.

M.R.Collins and Pythonman like this.
  3. BLAKE1

BLAKE1 Well-Known Member

Finished up the Parasound Zamp 3 setup tonight. It sounds just OK. Hard to tell how much of the sound is the amp vs other components. My guess in the speakers could be improved. Also not fair to compare when playing tracks through Roon on A21+ and Zamp at same time. Should work for a bedroom though.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 10, 2020
  4. jloweinmo

jloweinmo Forum Resident

I was following this thread as I am narrowing my power amp search to the A21+. I use a Rogue RP5 which is probably pretty similar to your RH5. Anyway, as of your last post it sounds like you were still on the fence on the A21+. Where are you now?

avanti1960 likes this.
  5. StockStiff

StockStiff Member